Sprouting in My Kitchen

Sprouts

Sprouts

The lettuces and greens that fill our garden beds in the fall, winter and early spring are gone now. My freezer is full of chard, spinach and beet greens.

But what do I do to provide green crunchcy things for my salad and sandwhiches? Sprouts. Well I could go buy some greens from a store by that name. What I am actually referring to is soaking vegetable seeds, and draining them.

I have several quart canning jars with lids that look like mesh. The damp seeds will sprout in the jar as long as I keep them moist by rinsing them 2 or 3 times per day. When they are anywhere from an inch to 3 inches long (depending on type), they provide nutritious, flavorful additions to my sandwhiches and salads.
The sprout itself is a powerhouse of vitamins. If you understand gardening, you know that the sprout contains enough of its own energy to be a strong foundation for the future plant. By eating sprouts, we are ingesting that energy in a concentrated form.

I order my seeds in bulk on-line to save money. But if you are just starting out, you can get some seeds to sprout at a couple of the stores that are known to carry healthier foods.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sprouting in My Kitchen

  1. This is a really cool idea. Where can I find these mesh lids? Online only? Thanks for the tip!

  2. Thanks! I am going to have to look for them the next time I am there.

Leave a Reply

