Accidental Potato Harvest in May

Back in February, I was working my compost pile and noticed some wire worms. They eat root crops like carrots, radish, turnip and potatoes. I did not want to spread them throughout my garden, so I did not use that compost pile right away.

I decided to put pieces of potato on metal barbeque rods and stick the potato into the ground. It was meant as a trap for the wire worms. Every few days, I would pull the rod out of the ground and feed the wormy potato to the chickens. Eventually, I pulled the metal rods out of the ground and found no more worms, so I left the last batch of potatoes in the compost pile.

It was not long before the compost pile was full of potato plants. Being the micro-managing farmer that I am (yeah right), I just left them alone.

So the plants were dead and I pulled them up yesterday to find lots of beautiful Yukon Gold potatoes; golf ball to baseball size. Oh and by the way, no more wire worms. Yay!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

