Harvesting Carrots

Lovely sweet and crunchy. Some people say that they are difficult to grow.

I have seen them grow tall tops and skinny bottoms, I have seen them with several legs. This year I even had an experimental batch that looked bruised because I planted a red variety and an orange variety too close together.

The ones that I am harvesting currently are 8 inches long with short tops, the shoulders are broad and although the tips are narrower they are rounded off instead of skinny and pointed. They are sweet and crunchy and will not last long around here. Between Steve, myself and my meal worms (next post), they will go pretty fast.

I used to give a carrot to my rabbits every day as a treat. The girls run up and start eating right away. Coach, who absolutely loved being petted and loved, used it for a back scratcher. As long as I hold it, he lays flat and moves around under it to have IT pet him. So, I played the game and rubbed his back, ears and head with it. Finally I got tired and put it on his resting board. Only then, would he eat it. Silly wabbit!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

