The Hummingbird Moth

hummingbird Moth

hummingbird Moth

Can you see it? Just left and below center.

One evening, Steve texted me. He was out front watering the flowers. I was in the house. He did not want to scare this one. He was sure that it was a baby humming bird and that I would be excited to see it.

I was. But something did not look right to me. It flitted from flower to flower very fast just like a humming bird, But I though that I saw antennae and a beak.

We watched in awe though, like proud parents and afraid to move and scare the sweet darling away. 

After it left, I went in and looked it up. Sure enough, this was a hummingbird moth, the parent of the dreaded tomatoe horn worm. We both felt very foolish. But it was kinda cute.  

Right cute! I will be fighting off it’s cute offspring all summer long. (said with a sarcastic snarl).

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

