Garden Chores in May

The chores in the garden are fewer this time of the year. There is less to plant but we are still planting if we want to harvest everyday of the year.
I walk the garden in the morning to pick beets and tomatoes, green onions, corn, some peas, radishes, summer squash, sunflower, parsnips and turnips. I like to pull weeds in the cool of the morning as well.
Morning is my favorite time of day. It is still cool in the mornings in the desert. Soon even the night time temps will not go down, and early morning will be the only time that I will feel like even being out there.
I watch for plants that may not be getting enough water, and adjust the drip line as needed. We did such a good job though, and I planted the seeds right next to the emitters so very few adjustments need to be made.
The humming birds are out in the morning, I hear birds singing in the green belt on the other side of the fence.
I will fill up my portable sink to scrub the veggies in the shade. That way, I will track in less dirt to my sink.
Once inside, I will give everything a final rinse and check for bugs. I will package them and decide what will be for dinner.
I have been juicing the red beets. I love them, but a glass full of juice is a little too beety, so I add an apple to the juice to sweeten it up.

I am planting basil, blackeyed peas, cantelope, okra, sunflowers, sweet potatoes, tomatillos and Jerusalem artichokes.

I am making the humming bird food twice a week now instead of once.
I keep my tomatoes pruned, I drop mineral oil on the tip of the ears of corn to keep the corn worm from getting in. I wash away any aphids on the brussel’s sprouts and watch for bugs of any sort to see who is out there.

This is the time of year that I watch the plants to make sure that the bees are pollinating. This year we have a lot of mason bees in my yard, but for the past two years we had no bees and had to pollinate the squash, melons and cucumber by hand. That is a lot of work, I prefer to encourage the bees to do their job. When I have my own farm, I will learn how to keep a hive of honey bees to pollinate our orchard and veggies. There are classes here that encourage the care and keeping of bees. It will be a lot of work, but how bad can one hive bee? (She says bravely).

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

