More Good Stuff

It is still a beautiful time of year for the garden. The pole beans are a foot tall. The sunflowers are 3 foot tall. The onions are starting to bulb out. The garlic is almost ready. The tomatoes are loaded. We have had a few to eat. The squashes are giving us lovely tender yummies. I get a handful of quarter sized strawberries every day.

The beets are so good roasted! The melon plants are spreading low to the ground. The okra is up, the egg plants are loving the sunshine. The artichoke is budding, I have more carrots almost ready and the bush beans that I planted where the carrots grew before are about 6 inches tall already.
People tease me about the corn, but I can see the ears coming on. Oh yes and the cucumbers are starting to climb the trellis.

The lettuce is all gone now and so are the peas. But even though this is considered and in-between time, we are eating beets, spinach, strawberries, tomatoes, red cabbage, squash and carrots. I also have broccoli soup and cauliflower in the freezer. By the way, how many ways can you fix cabbage?

Now tell me you can’t feed your family from your backyard!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Beets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

