April Pantry Report

My garden delighted me with mangel greens for my friend’s animals, artichokes, beets (and their greens), broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, carrots, cucumbers, green onions, herbs (of all kinds especially mint), a few bell peppers, potatoes, radishes, strawberries, sugar snap peas, spinach, summer squash, swiss chard, a few tomatoes, and turnips with their greens.

I feed the animals daily from weeds, trimmings and spent plants. Do not feed them the tomato or potato vines. I also went to my rental house and trimmed trees, vines and weeds. I bagged it up and fed it to the animals. Free food yay!

Most of the veggies, we ate fresh or lightly cooked. Beets get roasted. I did blanch and freeze collard greens, mustard greens and swiss chard. I made something called cabbage tonic and real old fashioned sauerkraut.

I obtained 4 gallons of whole raw milk from which I made some cultured butter, keifir, farmer’s cheese,yogurt and some ice cream.

The big sale find this month was pineapples at $1.00 each. I bought several. We ate quite a bit and then I froze the rest in chunks.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Pantry Report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

