Strawberry and Avocado Season!

My son and daughter-along with their spouses-invited us to spend a week in a lovely house in Escondido with them. The house is a someday retirement home for my daughter-in-law’s cousin. He does not wish to rent it out, so it stays empty most of the year. She was able to book a week of vacation time.

We had a wonderful time with them. My son and I made most of the breakfasts, and a couple of dinners together. The rest of the time we played tourist, and ate at local breweries (my son-in-law’s idea). Of course we hit the beach, the zoo, and the safari park too. But what I enjoyed most is just playing with my adult children, and seeing how they did their “happily-ever-after” together.

On the way home we were able to pick up fresh strawberries, and avocados. Tis the season after all. But if you cannot drive to California in April, just remember that this is the time to buy them cheap. I buy avocados about twice a week to eat in our salads. But watch for sales on the strawberries and freeze lots for later.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in avocado, Strawberries and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

