How to Handle Aphids

I have been told that ants “farm” aphids, so I control the ant population.
But sometimes I get aphids anyway, so I plant trap plants. Collards and mustard greens. I really do not like them anyway.
I find that the aphids will go to the trap plants, and leave my poor Brussel’s sprouts alone. In April, when I harvest my greens and sprouts, I pull up the trap plants, and feed them to my friend’s chickens. Goats love the greens too by the way. None of them are grossed out by the aphids.
Occaisionally I get aphids in my spinach, but I do not want them in my kitchen. I have developed a new way to handle the little buggars. Yes, I have done the spraying with water (to wash them down and drown them), but this is additional.
When I have greens (that I want to eat) that have aphids on them, I harvest them in the evening, and fill a large storage tote with water, and a couple of glugs of vinegar. I put the greens in the tote, and weigh them down with two heavy dinner plates til morning. In the morning I rinse them,
and bring the greens into my kitchen to package for the fridge, or the freezer.
I then dump the water into the compost bin. The aphids have drowned, but they will add to the compost.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

