Planting in April

I had to pull up my lettuces in the backyard garden yesterday. The backyard faces the west, so the plants back there get more sun in the afternoon. The lettuces were showing signs of bolting. So I harvested, washed and bagged them. I still have lettuces that I planted in pots in the front yard though. Because our house faces the east, we get the gentle eastern morning sun, and our two story house shades the front in the afternoon. This is one of the ways that we extend the spring season in the desert.
I have several ziplock bags of different greens in the fridge, and in a cooler that I keep by the front door. We are eating salads every night. Something that we are really fond of are Golden Beets. If you have never tried Golden Beets, you are really missing out. Steve says that he does not like beets, so I grew some golden beets this year. The other night I roasted, and skinned a batch, then put them in the fridge. When they were nice and cold, I offered. He declined, but tried one anyway, and then ate the rest of the bowl. Note to self, plant more golden beets next time.

As a matter of fact, this is a list of what I am still harvesting in April.
Beet greens, bok choi, broccoli, and cauliflower that was planted on the east side.
Carrots, cabbage, green onions, lettuces, leeks, radishes, spinach, turnips, and lots of peas.

I have red beets left over from the March harvest, and am currently canning them. I love them roasted, but I can only eat so much. We are eating salads everyday, along with steamed broc and caul. We eat the carrots, and peas as snacks. We eat the turnips roasted or pureed like potatoes.

Now for planting.
Basil, jicama, pole beans, blackeyed peas, carrots, cucumbers, cantelope, green onions, okra, peanuts, radish, summer squash, sun flowers, tomatillo transplants.
You will notice that the list is small, but at least I am still planting. That is the secret to harvesting something every day. You must continue to plant. I do not need to plant a lot at each planting, but the planting consistency is the key.

The cooler by the front door helps me to remember to take a bag of greens to share when I run errands this week. I have a stock of blue ice boxes that I rotate to keep the temperature of the cooler down.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

