Rabbits in My Backyard

I have been raising rabbits since I was twelve years old. My dad got me started to teach me about farming, business, food and life.
Rabbits can provide fun for the hobbiest, ribbons for the showman, meat for the backyard homesteader, or all of the above. As a gardener, I also benefit from the manure to fertilize my garden, and feed my earthworms.
Currently, my favorite is the siamese variety of the satin breed of rabbit. I have a trio (a buck and two does) of New Zealand Whites, and a trio of Siamese Satins.
Raising rabbits year round in the desert can be very difficult, because of the heat. Rabbits do not tolerate temperatures above ninety degrees. So during the hot time of the year, I bring my rabbits in the house during the day time, and take them back out to their cage over night. While in the house, they each have their own dog crate. The dog crates are lined up in the cool dark hallway. It works for us, but I can see why not many people would choose this route. Some people will keep a cooled bunny barn, but that is something that I am not ready to do in this backyard.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in earthworms, Rabbits. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

