Making Apple Butter from Applesauce

Last Year's Applesauce

Last Year’s Applesauce

Last week, I was cleaning out the pantry, and found some applesauce that I had canned last year. The applesauce had turned an unappealing dark brown color. Please note the powdery gray on the jars and lids. I had forgotten to add vinegar to my canning water to keep the minerals from settling on the outside of my jars.  The dark applesauce is perfectly safe to eat, but who would want to?

Cooking Applesauce down into Applebutter

Cooking Applesauce down into Applebutter

So I dumped all the applesauce into my crock pot, and cooked it on low for about eighteen hours. I added some cinnamon and cloves, adjusted the sugar to my husband’s taste and recanned it. Now the labels say Apple Butter March 2013.

12 half pints of applebutter in 2013

12 half pints of applebutter in 2013

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Canning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

