Mid February Garden Report

Beets and Cabbages

Beets and Cabbages

Mid February in the garden

We have been eating salad greens to the point that I have been calling Steve my Bubula Arugula. He calls me his baby endive.

We have had broccoli, beets, their greens, cauliflower, and brussel sprouts. We have been sharing cabbages with friends, and family. We have been eating sugar snap peas, carrots, radishes, bok choi, and all kinds of onions. Steve says that he is not a veggie guy. Well, he eats whatever I put in front of him. Guess what? He is a veggie guy!

The new thing that I learned this year was about celery. After purchasing bunches of celery to go in soups, and stocks this winter, I saved the bottom 3 inches of the stalk. I left it whole and planted it. Celery grows from the middle. The leaves just came right out of the middle of the cross cut section. The  resulting bunch of celery was even tastier than the original bunch. This time. I harvested the celery by cutting straight across at ground level, and by golly if it did not start immediately to grow another bunch. I will continue in this manner as long as I can, but I imagine that the summer heat will kill it off.

This February has been extra cold, so I am waiting until March to plant my spring garden. Last year, I planted my spring garden the last week of February, but this year, I think that I will stay inside and drink hot tea.

February Pantry Report

My hens gave me 7 dozen eggs this month. We have gleaned lemons, grapefruit and more oranges. I have canned lemon curd, and orange marmelade. Lots of juicing and freezing. I love pink grapefruit, but the yellow grapefruit juice is nice when mixed with tangerine juice. Most of the garden veggies are being eaten fresh, or lightly cooked. Beets are being roasted, juiced and canned.  Whole pork shoulder (butt) roasts went on sale for $1.50 per lb, so I bought several. It is our favorite cut of meat. I can brown it, and roast it whole or crock it, and shred it. Looking forward to warmer weather and getting my hands dirty.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Canning, Chickens, Gardening, Monthly pantry report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

