Celery-In The Garden

Starting celery

Starting celery

Starting celery

Starting celery

Celery in the garden

Celery in the garden

Hello Gardeners!
I have been told that we cannot grow celery here in the desert. So I have not tried it. Until now. Why would I want to grow celery, when it is so inexpensive at the store? Celery is one of the vegetables that are included in the dirty dozen. Which means that unless you buy organically raised celery (or grow it yourself) you are bringing home food that has been heavily sprayed with insecticide or herbicide.
I could not find celery transplants, and I did not want to wait for the seeds to grow. So, one day several months ago, I was cutting up a salad, and got to thinking. Now, I know that can be dangerous, so I did not do it for too long. But this is what I came up with. A new experiment for “Abby’s Garden“. I chopped the bottom 3 inches off of the bunch of celery, and placed it in a glass of water. I put 4 toothpicks in the sides of the celery to suspend it in the glass. Guess what? It did not root, but after a few days it started growing leaves up out of the center. So I transplanted it right into the garden.
How cool is that? Free celery, and this time-organic.
Now,whenever I buy a bunch of celery, I do the same thing. I now have 8 very nice celery plants growing in my garden. I understand that I need to keep piling the dirt up around them as they grow to keep the stalks light green. That is what is called “blanching”. This year’s batch may be a little on the green side, but I will get better at it over time.
The pictures are of some of my celery starts in water, there is also a thyme plant that I am starting. The third picture is of some of the oldest celery that is already out in the garden, and doing very well. You will see it in the bottom left corner of the picture. This garden bed also contains peas, brussels sprouts, cauliflower, kale, and a few onions sprinkled around. The bottom right of the picture contains a rogue sage plant that popped up in my compost bed. I was kind enough to allow it to stay there. Volunteers have a way of telling us where they will grow best.
Just remember, our fall, winter, and early spring does not get too cold for greens, carrots, radishes, beets, onions, broccoli, cauliflower, peas, brussels sprouts and celery.
Tomatoes, peppers, green beans, summer squash, eggplant, and okra like the warmer months.
I loved the rain. We sure needed it!
Here is some advice that I gave my kids when they were little;
“Go play in the rain, have fun in it (because we do not get this often enough in the desert)”
While you are..
Sharing Life’s Abundance,
Donna and her babies.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in celery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

