Why Am I Doing This?

From a backyard farm with 800 square feet of vegetables, 6 chickens, 3 rabbits, 2 miniature dairy goats and 20 tilapia on a 6500 sq foot lot in an HOA. None of this was allowed, but nobody cared because I kept it clean and quiet. I did this for about 5 years before Steve said “Honey, you need a farm”

To

A 25oo sq foot- old-single story house with a flat roof on a 1.33 acre lot in county island. I can have roosters, and even large livestock (if I want). I need to get the paddocks and pens built, but this is the place for us. We are battling the coyotes and the hawks; but we are figuring this out.

I have been gardening year round in the desert for about 30 years. In that time, I have made a lot of mistakes. But I feel confident that I finally know what I am doing. We can all read an internet article and feel like an expert almost overnight. But there is no substitute for experience.

I have also volunteered my time at different farms in the valley; to watch and to learn. I have made friends with all kinds of wonderful people who keep livestock. Some do it to make an income  from their property, some do it for sustainability purposes. I do it because I absolutely love everything about it.

I hope that this inspires you to grow your own food; in whatever abundance suits you. I will share what I know and what I learn as I continue.

We now have a farm home that we can share with our extended family, our friends and because of this blog-the world.

So, welcome world to my small farm home. I hope that you enjoy your stay as you join us in-

Sharing Life’s Abundance,
Donna, Steve and their babies.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Abundance, Beginning, Gardening, The New Farm and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

