Piles O’ Peas

Snacks for school. I am trying to get the other students hooked

Snacks for school. I am trying to get the other students hooked

Nope, that is not an Irish name. Though I am Irish and could claim it. I am just happy about still having peas in May.

Normally, in order to still have lots o’ peas in the desert, you would have had to plant in the shade. But these peas were planted in full sun during the winter. Normally my peas are pea-tering out in April. But we are still going strong. So what is the difference?

Well that particular bed started out as a compost bed in December. I had filled it with my compost layers; topped it off with soil from the spent bed next to it and let it cook for 3 months. Even in the winter time, 3 months is plenty of time to allow these compost beds to work their magic.

 

In March, all I did was lightly turn the top couple of inches and plant.  Now I have peas, turnips, beets, radishes and tomatoes that look very happy. The deeper layers are still actively composting. When I pull up the current plants later this month, all I will do is turn the soil deeply to bring the bottom to the top and plant again.

I will not have to improve that soil again until December. But by then, I hope to be in the process of moving. No worries though. I have barrels and feed sacks. This lovely soil is moving with me.

I am telling you that all the work that my friends are doing to prep their beds, just looks like way too much work for me. Let the microbes and earthworms, do the work for you.

This entry was posted in Compost, Peas, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Piles O’ Peas

  1. Joe Mammino says:

    Simply amazing

  2. Thank you Joe for your faithfulness;)

Leave a Reply

