Pesto!

1/2 pint jars of pesto

1/2 pint jars of pesto

Remember all that basil?  Today, I made 4 jars of pesto. The only reason I stopped is that I ran out of Parmesan cheese. I will get some more tomorrow and make 4 more jars. The secret to keeping it is to cover it with a thin layer of olive oil. This is not processed. I just screwed the lid on and will keep it in my fridge. It will keep several weeks this way. If I want to freeze it, I will just take the lid off and put it in the freezer.

Sometimes on Saturday nights, I make Steve get off the computer and help me make pizza for dinner. We have a glass of wine while chopping and snacking on the toppings while we make the pizza. Pesto is something that works really well for that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pesto!

  1. CastIronDan says:

    I had a lot of basil this year as well. I wish I would of thought of doing this instead of dehydrating! Next Year…

  2. Isn’t it cool Dan how we can all learn from each other? I just learned how to make chips with my ABUNDANCE of zucchini from another friend.

Leave a Reply

