Yardsale Finds in November.

This month-the garden that I spend so much time in blessed me with an ABUNDANCE of herbs. I use them fresh, but cannot use them up fast enough.

I did pick a bunch of basil, and will turn that into pesto.

Pile o' Basil

Pile o’ Basil

I do not can pesto. I have read that it is not safe. But I do freeze it in 1/2 pint canning jars. I just top it with some olive oil to keep it from turning dark. Then I can give it as gifts or use when needed.

Here is my yardsale find. I had a dehydrator, but this was nicer. I bought it from a lady who said that her son spent a lot of money to make jerky. He never got around to using it. So his trash is my treasure for 5 dollars.

Dehydrator upgrade

Dehydrator upgrade

I hope to upgrade to the Excalibur, but this will do just fine for now.

What do I do with a dehydrator in November? I dry herbs, and put them in little jars. My son and daughter-in-law hosted Thanksgiving dinner. I only had to make pies and rolls. It is time to let the younger cooks shine! Besides, I did not have to worry about cleaning the house for company yesterday. More time to concentrate on making my pies and rolls the best that they can be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yardsale Finds in November.

  1. Joseph Mammino says:

    Thank you for a year full of interesting information. I will continue to read your blogs and mail just to make me daydream about years past, gardens past and looking forward to more gems that perk up an old man’s heart. Keep up the good work young lady :-) Joe

    Sent from my iPad

  2. My dear Joe. You are a friend indeed. Thank you so much for all the encouragement that you have provided.

  3. Tiffany Hawkins says:

    Awesome haul on the basil. I think my plant has three leaves. Maybe!

Leave a Reply

